Creditor Identifier

On behalf of the Swiss and Liechtenstein financial centers, SIX Interbank Clearing is in charge of the issuing and administration of Creditor Identifiers. A SEPA direct debit can only be processed throughout Europe with a uniform and standardized identification number that unambiguously identifies the creditor.

If a creditor would like to collect a SEPA direct debit, then they must use their Creditor Identifier, which is routed to the debtor together in the SEPA direct debit mandate. The Creditor Identifier is independent of any account or process and can be used at all financial institutions within the SEPA zone.

Structure of the Creditor Identifier

The Creditor Identifier in Switzerland and Liechtenstein is structured as follows:

  • Part a: Positions 1 and 2: The ISO national code for Switzerland (CH), Liechtenstein (LI). 
  • Part b: Positions 3 and 4: Two-digit check digits (modulo 97-10) pertaining to parts a and d (part c is not considered). 
  • Part c: Positions 5 to 7: Three-digit Creditor Business Code that can be freely determined by the creditor for the identification of a business field within the same company. If no Creditor Business Code is used, then “ZZZ” is used as a placeholder. 
  • Part d: Positions 8 to 18: Eleven-digit numerical national Creditor Identifier, which unambiguously identifies the creditor within Switzerland and Liechtenstein. It is numbered progressively beginning with 1 and filled in with leading zeroes.

Application & issuing

Applications for the issuing of a Creditor Identifier can be made exclusively online through financial institutions. Creditors must therefore apply for their Creditor Identifier through a financial institution. The creditor's primary domicile and business headquarters must be in Switzerland or Liechtenstein.

Basically, the same Creditor Identifier may be used at the same time for both the SEPA Core Direct Debit Scheme and the SEPA B2B Direct Debit Scheme. Only one Creditor Identifier will be issued per creditor (company name and address), which will ordinarily contain the “ZZZ” Creditor Business Code (part c). The Creditor Business Code gives the creditor the option of indicating different business fields within their company.

No authorization to collect direct debits in the SEPA Direct Debit Scheme is granted through the issuing of a Creditor Identifier. Such authorization can only be granted by the financial institution that holds the applicant's account.

Should changes arise regarding information pertaining to the creditor (e.g. change of name, change of legal form, etc.), no new Creditor Identifier is to be applied for. The same also goes for address changes (e.g. street) and for bank account switching. The creditor must demonstrate, however, at the request of its financial institution that his identity remains the same notwithstanding any such changes.

If a company in entirety is transferred to a new legal entity, the Creditor Identifier of the company being taken over is to be used. The Creditor’s former Creditor Identifier is to be returned to its financial institution for deletion.

Allocation application

Application for allocation of a Creditor Identifier for SEPA direct debits.

Cancellation application

Application for cancellation of a Creditor Identifier for SEPA direct debits.

Inquiry application

Application for inquiry of a Creditor Identifier for SEPA direct debits.

Creditor Identifier

Sur mandat des places financières suisse et liechtensteinoise, SIX Interbank Clearing se charge de l’attribution et de l’administration de l'identifiant du créancier. Pour qu’un prélèvement SEPA puisse être traité, il faut disposer dans toute l’Europe d’un identifiant uniformisé et normalisé permettant d’identifier le créancier sans ambigüité.

Si un créancier souhaite encaisser des prélèvements SEPA, il doit utiliser son identifiant. Celui-ci est communiqué au débiteur dans le mandat de prélèvement SEPA avec le numéro de référence du mandat. L'identifiant est indépendant du compte en banque et de la procédure et peut être utilisé auprès de tous les établissements financiers de l’espace SEPA.

Structure de l'identifiant

L'identifiant présente la structure suivante en Suisse et au Liechtenstein:

  • Partie a: positions 1 et 2: code de pays ISO de la Suisse (CH) ou au Liechtenstein (LI).
  • Partie b: positions 3 et 4: chiffre de contrôle à deux positions (module 97-10) s'étendant sur les parties a et d (la partie c n'est pas prise en considération).
  • Partie c: positions 5 à 7: Creditor Business Code à trois positions, qui peut être défini à volonté par le créancier afin de désigner un secteur d’activité au sein d’une même entreprise. S'il n'est pas fait appel à un Creditor Business Code, «ZZZ» doit figurer comme caractères de remplacement.
  • Partie d: positions 8 à 18: identifiant national numérique à 11 positions, identifiant sans équivoque le créancier en Suisse et au Liechtenstein. Ce numéro est attribué en continu à partir de 1 et complété par des zéros de tête.

Demande & délivrance

Les demandes d’attribution d’un identifiant peuvent uniquement être déposées en ligne par les établissements financiers. Les créanciers doivent ainsi demander un identifiant à un établissement financier. Pour ce faire, il est impératif que la résidence principale ou le siège principal du créancier se situe en Suisse ou au Liechtenstein.

En principe, le même identifiant peut être utilisé en même temps pour le prélèvement SEPA de base et le prélèvement SEPA interentreprises. Un identifiant personnel est attribué à chaque créancier (nom de l’entreprise et adresse) qui comprend par défaut le «Creditor Business Code» ZZZ (partie c). Au moyen du «Creditor Business Code», le créancier peut toutefois caractériser les différents secteurs d’activité.

L’attribution d’un identifiant n’est pas liée à une autorisation à encaisser les prélèvements SEPA. Celle-ci doit obligatoirement passer par l’établissement financier du créancier.

En cas de modifications (par ex. changement de nom, nouvelle forme juridique, etc.), il n’est pas nécessaire de demander un nouvel identifiant. Cela vaut également pour les changements d’adresse (par ex. de rue) et de coordonnées bancaires. Le créancier doit cependant pouvoir prouver, sur demande de son établissement financier, que son identité ait été conservée en dépit des modifications.

En cas de cessation de toute une activité à une nouvelle entité, il faut alors utiliser l’identifiant du créancier de l’entreprise qui reprend le contrôle. L’identifiant actuel du créancier est à faire supprimer par écrit par son établissement financier.

Demande d'attribution

Demande d'attribution d'un identifiant du créancier (Creditor Identifier) pour les prélèvements SEPA.

Demande de suppression

Demande de suppression d'un identifiant du créancier (Creditor Identifier) pour les prélèvements SEPA.

Demande de consultation

Demande de consultation d'un identifiant du créancier (Creditor Identifier) pour les prélèvements SEPA.