Creditor Identifier

On behalf of the Swiss and Liechtenstein financial centers, SIX Interbank Clearing is in charge of the issuing and administration of Creditor Identifiers. A SEPA direct debit can only be processed throughout Europe with a uniform and standardized identification number that unambiguously identifies the creditor.

If a creditor would like to collect a SEPA direct debit, then they must use their Creditor Identifier, which is routed to the debtor together in the SEPA direct debit mandate. The Creditor Identifier is independent of any account or process and can be used at all financial institutions within the SEPA zone.

Structure of the Creditor Identifier

The Creditor Identifier in Switzerland and Liechtenstein is structured as follows:

  • Part a: Positions 1 and 2: The ISO national code for Switzerland (CH), Liechtenstein (LI). 
  • Part b: Positions 3 and 4: Two-digit check digits (modulo 97-10) pertaining to parts a and d (part c is not considered). 
  • Part c: Positions 5 to 7: Three-digit Creditor Business Code that can be freely determined by the creditor for the identification of a business field within the same company. If no Creditor Business Code is used, then “ZZZ” is used as a placeholder. 
  • Part d: Positions 8 to 18: Eleven-digit numerical national Creditor Identifier, which unambiguously identifies the creditor within Switzerland and Liechtenstein. It is numbered progressively beginning with 1 and filled in with leading zeroes.

Application & issuing

Applications for the issuing of a Creditor Identifier can be made exclusively online through financial institutions. Creditors must therefore apply for their Creditor Identifier through a financial institution. The creditor's primary domicile and business headquarters must be in Switzerland or Liechtenstein.

Basically, the same Creditor Identifier may be used at the same time for both the SEPA Core Direct Debit Scheme and the SEPA B2B Direct Debit Scheme. Only one Creditor Identifier will be issued per creditor (company name and address), which will ordinarily contain the “ZZZ” Creditor Business Code (part c). The Creditor Business Code gives the creditor the option of indicating different business fields within their company.

No authorization to collect direct debits in the SEPA Direct Debit Scheme is granted through the issuing of a Creditor Identifier. Such authorization can only be granted by the financial institution that holds the applicant's account.

Should changes arise regarding information pertaining to the creditor (e.g. change of name, change of legal form, etc.), no new Creditor Identifier is to be applied for. The same also goes for address changes (e.g. street) and for bank account switching. The creditor must demonstrate, however, at the request of its financial institution that his identity remains the same notwithstanding any such changes.

If a company in entirety is transferred to a new legal entity, the Creditor Identifier of the company being taken over is to be used. The Creditor’s former Creditor Identifier is to be returned to its financial institution for deletion.

Allocation application

Application for allocation of a Creditor Identifier for SEPA direct debits.

Cancellation application

Application for cancellation of a Creditor Identifier for SEPA direct debits.

Inquiry application

Application for inquiry of a Creditor Identifier for SEPA direct debits.

Creditor Identifier

Im Auftrag der Finanzplätze Schweiz und Liechtenstein ist SIX Interbank Clearing zuständig für die Vergabe und Verwaltung der Identifikationsnummern von Zahlungsempfängern. Nur mit einer europaweit einheitlichen und standardisierten Identifikationsnummer, die den Zahlungsempfänger eindeutig identifiziert, kann eine SEPA-Lastschrift abgewickelt werden.

Möchte ein Zahlungsempfänger SEPA-Lastschriften einziehen, muss dieser seine Identifikationsnummer nutzen. Zusammen mit der Mandatsreferenz wird die Identifikationsnummer des Zahlungsempfängers dem Zahler im SEPA-Lastschrift-Mandat mitgeteilt. Eine Identifikationsnummer ist konto- und verfahrensunabhängig und kann bei allen Finanzinstituten im SEPA-Raum verwendet werden.

Struktur der Identifikationsnummer

Die Struktur der Identifikationsnummer ist in der Schweiz und Liechtenstein wie folgt aufgebaut:

  • Teil a: Stelle 1 und 2: ISO-Ländercode der Schweiz (CH), Liechtenstein (LI).
  • Teil b: Stelle 3 und 4: Zweistellige Prüfziffer (Modulo 97-10) über die Teile a und d (Teil c wird nicht berücksichtigt).
  • Teil c: Stelle 5 bis 7: Dreistelliger Creditor Business Code, der vom Zahlungsempfänger für die Kennzeichnung eines Geschäftsfeldes im gleichen Haus beliebig festgelegt werden kann. Wird kein Creditor Business Code verwendet, ist "ZZZ" zu nutzen.
  • Teil d: Stelle 8 bis 18: 11-stellige, numerische nationale Identifikationsnummer, die den Zahlungsempfänger innerhalb der Schweiz bzw. Liechtenstein eindeutig identifiziert. Sie wird beginnend mit 1 fortlaufend vergeben und mit führenden Nullen aufgefüllt.

Antragstellung & Vergabe

Anträge auf Erteilung einer Identifikationsnummer können ausschliesslich online durch Finanzinstitute gestellt werden. Zahlungsempfänger müssen ihre Identifikationsnummern daher über ein Finanzinstitut beantragen. Voraussetzung hierfür ist, dass der Zahlungsempfänger seinen Hauptwohnsitz bzw. Hauptgeschäftssitz in der Schweiz/Liechtenstein hat.

Grundsätzlich kann dieselbe Identifikationsnummer gleichzeitig für das SEPA-Basislastschriftverfahren und das SEPA-Firmenlastschriftverfahren genutzt werden. Pro Zahlungsempfänger (Firmenname und Adresse) wird eine eigene Identifikationsnummer vergeben, welche standardmässig den «Creditor Business Code» ZZZ (Teil c) enthält. Über den Creditor Business Code hat der Zahlungsempfänger die Möglichkeit, verschiedene Geschäftsfelder in seinem Hause zu kennzeichnen.

Mit der Zuteilung einer Identifikationsnummer ist keine Zulassung zum Einzug von Lastschriften im SEPA-Lastschriftverfahren verbunden. Diese kann nur durch das kontoführende Finanzinstitut des Zahlungsempfängers erfolgen.

Ergeben sich beim Zahlungsempfänger Veränderungen (z.B. Namensänderung, Wechsel der Rechtsform o.ä.), muss keine neue Identifikationsnummer beantragt werden. Dasselbe gilt auch bei Änderungen der Anschrift (z.B. Strasse) und bei einem Wechsel der Bankverbindung. Der Zahlungsempfänger hat jedoch auf Verlangen seines Finanzinstitutes den Nachweis zu erbringen, dass durch die Änderungen seine Identität im Übrigen gewahrt bleibt.

Wird ein Geschäft als Ganzes auf einen neuen Rechtsträger übertragen, ist die Identifikationsnummer des Zahlungsempfängers des übernehmenden Unternehmens zu verwenden. Die bisherige Identifikationsnummer des Zahlungsempfängers ist durch sein Finanzinstitut schriftlich zur Löschung aufzugeben.

Vergabeantrag

Antrag auf Vergabe einer Identifikationsnummer des Zahlungsempfängers für SEPA-Lastschriften (Creditor Identifier).

Löschungsantrag

Antrag auf Löschung einer Identifikationsnummer des Zahlungsempfängers für SEPA-Lastschriften (Creditor Identifier).

Abfrageantrag

Antrag auf Abfrage einer Identifikationsnummer des Zahlungsempfängers für SEPA-Lastschriften (Creditor Identifier).